Mirjam Tally

(born 1976, Tallinn, Estonia, residence Visby, Sweden) contemporary composer and sound artist, is a member of the Estonian Composers Union and the Society of Swedish Composers. Tally graduated from the Estonian Academy of Music in 2000 as a student of Lepo Sumera. 2005, 2006 she was composer in Residence at Visby International Centre for Composers and 2009-2010 - Composer in Residence at Swedish Radio. Her music has been performed in festivals Mixtur in Barcelona, Dark Music Days on Iceland, Summartónar on Faeroe Islands, The Venice Biennale's International Festival of Contemporary Music in Italy, ISCM World New Music Days in Lithuania, Sweden and Croatia, Nordic Music Days on Iceland, Sound of Stockholm, Geiger festival in Gothenburg etc. Tally's work Swinburne participated at the International Rostrum of Composers in 2001. In 2009, Tally's orchestral work Turbulence was selected as recommended works at International Rostrum of Composers. Tally has collaborated with artists such as;  BIT20 Ensemble, Zagreb Soloists, Altera Veritas, Kaspars Putninsh, UMS’n JIP, Duo Violoncellissimo, Marco Blaauw, New European Ensemble etc. and in Sweden she has worked with Swedish Radio Orchestra and choir,  Eric Ericson Chamber Choir, Uppsala Chamber Orchestra, trio Zilliacus Persson - Raitinen, etc. from Estonia: Estonian National SO, Estonian Dream Bigband, Estonian National Male Choir, Küberstuudio, Weekend Guitar Trio, Wirbel, Ensemble U, Resonabilis.
Seleceted work: Steps, 2009,  for pf; Winter Island, 2009, for string quartet; Harleguin, 2000, for perc, fis; Moonwalker; 2011, for bcl, perc (batt/mar), string quintet; Déjà vu, 2010, for arp and orch;  Long way to go, 2007, for S, fis, vlc, claves; Ljuset och mörkret, 2012, for mixed coro and orch - 2*222 1110 12 1 str, sin.
Recordings, selected list: Manuscript; Õekese eest; Spanning Scandinavian Electro acoustic music, Media Artes; Dedicated to Trio Zilliacus Persson Raitinen. Phono Suecia.
Publications direction: Orchestra at Gehmans Musikförlag, other works available at Svensk Musik Swedmic AB
Awards, selection: 2004 The Heino Eller Music Prize, The Society of Swedish Composers Scholarship 2008, 2 prizes for the work Turbulence – the Composer Prize of the Estonian Music Days Festival 2007 and the small Christ Johnson Music Prize 2008 by the Royal Swedish Academy of Music, The Estonian Cultural Capital prize 2009.

Contact:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.