Catharina Palmér

(born in Karlskrona, 1963, resident Stockholm/Sweden), is Swedish a contemporary composer. Her studies started with violin, piano and organ before she went on to composition studies in 1991. In 1998 she graduated from the Roayl College of Music in Stockholm with a diploma in composition. Her teachers in Stockholm where among others Sven-David Sandström and Pär Lindgren, in Copenhagen Per Nørgård and in the US Don at the Indiana University. Palmer's list of works is about fifty compositions and her music has been performed by the Stockholm Wind Ensemble, Stockholm Saxophoe Quartet, Kroumata, KammarensembleN, Akademiska Kören in Stockholm as well as Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra. Palmer was representated in Stockholm New Music in 1996 and her music has been performed in numerous European countries and in the US. She received the Royal Academy of Music' foreign grant and has been a member of FST (Association of Swedish Composers) since 1999. In 2002 she received the first prize for her piece Ahead (for Coro, six soloists and electronics) in a composition contest for choir, organized by the Contemporary Vocal Ensemble at Indiana University, USA. In 2003 Palmér received the second prize in the Danish chamber choir Hymnias' international composition contest Vattenverk (water works) for her composition Kissrain, Watersleep, for Coro and 2 percussion. She finished her doctoral degree in composition in 2004 at the Indiana University in the US. Palmer is one of the founders to the group Opus 96, which is a society of seven female composers. Palmer feels a great love for poetry and has written music to texts by Ocatavio Paz and Thomas Tranströmer. Among her three most important works Counterpoint to Silence (1999) for orch, A prayer (2202), for S, A soli, mixed Coro, str, and perc; and Like Endless Chains of Gold (2003) for mixed Coro and orch, may be mentioned.
Selected works: Episod i fyra satser, 1986, for 4 vl; Musik i sommaren, 1990, for str quartet; Chaconne-91, 1991, for vl, org; Approach, 1982, for sax quartet; Cur, 1993, for orch; Like a tunnel.., 1994, for fl,vl,pf; Crying song, 1996, for tape; The invisible journey 1996, for vl solo; Seeds of light, 1999, for str; Floating, 2000, for cl,chit.
Publications direction: Available at Svensk Musik/Swedmic AB