Beata Hlavenková (Morávková)

(born in 1978 in Czech Republic), composer. She studied composition in classical music at the Janácek Conservatory in Ostrava. In 2004 she graduated from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst USA, with a Master's Degree in composition, jazz composition and arranging. In 2003, during her American studies, she was selected for "The Betty Carter Jazz Ahead residential program" for young composers and players in the Kennedy Centre, Washington DC. At present, she has her own jazz music trio, working with leading players like drummer Martin Novák and bassist Rastislav Uhrík, as well as drummers Pavel Bady Zboril, Jirí Slavícek, Roman Vícha and bass players Tomáš Liška and Martin Lehký. In October 2008 a large concert of jazz bands took place in the Rudolfinum concert hall, where she expanded her trio to include the Prague Chamber Philharmonic and Lenka Dusilová. She has appeared in the "S‟aight" project as composer with the guitarist and composer Patrik Hlavenka and, in 2004, released an album of the same title. In 2008, she again played with Rich Perry at the Jazz Fest in Brno and for an international radio transmission by EBU, and in the autumn of 2009 Rich toured with The Beata's Trio. Her musical activities range beyond jazz and classical music. Since 2005, the focus of her activities in the field of pop music, it has been collaboration with Lenka Dusilová, which resulted in a unique project called Eternal Seekers, and together with the band The Clarinet Factory, Beata was co-composer as well as arranger. The keynote album Joy for Joel (2009 Animal Music), was recorded in the U.S.A. She has worked as a music teacher at The Jaroslav Ježek Conservatory and Higher Specialised School, and currently at The New York University in Prague and has participated in the curriculum for the first Czech university study of jazz music begun at the Janacek Academy of Performing Arts in Brno, in 2010.
Selected works: The keynote album Joy for Joel (2009, Animal Music)
Awards: In October 2005, she and the trio (R. Uhrik and R. Vicha) won the Jazz Junior prize 2005 for "Band of the Year, composition and arrangement".