Grigorjeva Galina

(born in 1962, in Simferopol, Ukraine, resident in Estonia), composer. She studied at the Simferopol Music School and Odessa Conservatoire. In 1991, she graduated from the St. Petersburg Conservatoire under Yuri Falik, and was engaged in postgraduate studies with Lepo Sumera at the Estonian Academy of Music 1994-1998. Galina Grigorjeva was appointed Composer-in-Residence at the NYYD Ensemble for the season 2006/2007. Now she works as a freelance composer. Music of Galina Grigorjeva has been performed in Ukraine, Russia, Poland, Germany, France, USA etc. Grigorjeva's works have been performed by Hortus Musicus (artistic director Andres Mustonen), Estonian Philarmonic Chamber Choir, Moscow Chamber orchestra, Kremerata Baltica, Moscow Patriarchate Choir, State Choir Latvija, percussion ensemble Kroumata (Sweden) Rascher Saxophone Quartet, recorder player Conrad Steitnmann etc. Grigorjeva has been performed at several festivals: Naantali Music Festival (Filnland), Lockenhaus Festival (Austria, 2003), Festival Pablo Casals in Prades (France, 2004), etc. The Estonian Radio has twice chosen Grigorjeva's work to represent Estonia at the International Rostrum of Composers. On leaving in 2000, in Amsterdam, and Lament in 2002, in Paris. She is member of the Estonian Composers Union since 1994.
Selected works: Sviatki, Concert for mixed choir a cappella (lyrics from Russian folklore, 1997-2004); Polyphonie for pf. (1998); Seven Christmas Carols, song cycle for children for voice and pf.( 1998): On leaving for mixed choir (from Orthodox Canon) (1999); Lament for alto flute. (2000); Con misterio for chamber ensemble, soloist and percussion (lyrics from Russian Poetrys 2001); Quasi niente for flute and percussion (2001); A Song on the Occasion of Tsarina Yevdokia Taking the Veil for string orchestra (2002); Recitativo accompagnata for vocal solo (2003); Hoquet for percussion solo (2004); There is a Time for Autumn for percussion ensemble (2004); Infinity Canon for string quartet (2006).
Awards: She was awarded the Heino Eller Music Prize in 2003, and the annual prize of the Endowment for Music of the Cultural Endowment of Estonia in 2004.

Contact: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.