Margareta Hallin Ekerot

(born Hallin, 1931 in Karlskoga, resident Stockholm/Sweden) is an opera singer (coloratura soprano), actress and composer. She was elected as a member of The Society of Swedish Composers 1990. When studying in 1955 at The University College of Opera, she debuted at The Royal Opera as Rosina in The Barber of Seville. In 1956 she was employed at The Royal Opera and since then, been a very aversatile soprano in characters such as Zerbinetta in Ariadne on Naxos, Lucia in Lucia di Lammermoor, Sophie in The Rose Cacalier, just to mention a few. Hallin has also performed in Glyndebourne, Florence, Wien, Hamburg, Moscow, London and Copenhagen as well as touring with a romance program in the former Soviet Union. In the mid 80's she started to compose. As a composer she is self taught but was encouraged by among others Swedish composer Eberhard Eyser. Hallin's first compositions are music set to poems by famous Swedish authors such as Nils Ferlin, Harry Martinsson, Werner Aspenström and Alf Henriksson, and she performed them in Drottningholm's palace chapel. She has also composed a chamber opera based on the drama Fröken Julie 1990 (Miss Julie) by Swedish author August Stridberg. Hallin was appointed court singer in 1966, appointed professor in 2001. When receiving The Gunn Wållgren grant 2006 she was given the motivation: .."she is one of the Royal Opera's most brilliant artists during the twentieth century.
Selected works: Den starkare, 1990, for Music dramatic scen; Död i gryningen 1991 for S, str, lyrics by Federico García Lorca; Relationer 1992 for V and chamber orch. röst och kammarorkester; Fröken Julie 1994 for string qurtet; Elektra, 1997/99 chamber opera; Julkantat, 2008 for 3 soli, mixed Coro, Coro-bi, fl, cl, 2 vl, vla, vlc, cb, org.
Selected recordings: Margareta Hallin. Sex kvinnoporträtt ur operans värld. Norrköpings Symphony Orchestra. EMI; Famous Swedish Singers. Margareta Hallin. Bluebell; Svenska hovsångerskor. EMI CMCD.
Publications direction: Available at Svensk Musik/Swedmic AB
Awards, selection: 1970 The Jussi Björling Grant. 1972 member of Royal Academy of Music; 1976 Litteris et Artibus.