Airelle Besson

(born in March 1978, Paris), trumpet, flugelhorn, violin, composer, arranger and orchestrator. She graduated from the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Music de Paris in 2002. During her formative years she studied, amongst others, with Wynton Marsalis, Enrico Rava, Paolo Fresu and Kato Havas (disciple of Yehudi Menhuin). Recently, she has been taking conducting classes with Monsieur Nicolas Brochot at the conservatoire d’Evry, and she studies orchestration. She has performed with Charlie Haden and Carla Bley in the «Liberation Music Orchestra», Dave Liebman, Kenny Werner, Billy Hart, Philip Cathernie, Daniel Humair, Rhoda Scott, John Abercrombie, Youn Soun Nah, Riccardo Del Fra, Nelson Veras, Magic Malik, Gabor Gado, Heiri Känzig, Benjamin Moussay. She has performed with noumerous jazz ensembles including the French National Jazz Orchestra, François Jeanneau’s «Pandémonium», Alban Darche’s «Gros cube», Laurent Cugny’s «Big band Lumière», Fred Pallem’s «Sacre du Tympan». These musical experiences have led her touring from Europe to United States, from South America to Japan and from Africa to Scandinavia. In 2003, she founded her own jazz quintet «Rockingchair» which received the First Prize at the «Concours International de Jazz de La Défense». She has experience in teaching (masterclasses, courses, summer workshops: Jazz in Marciac, Jazz à Bourges). She currently plays in duo with Brasilian guitarist Nelson Veras in various jazz festivals on a new project. They will soon record a CD. In 2012, she was commissioned by the prestigious “Orchestre National de Lyon” and the “Institut Louis Lumières” to compose a creation for symphonic orchestra, for the silent movie: “Loulou” by G.W. Pabst (1928). In 2013, she is selected as “European Emerging Jazz Artist” to participate to the European program “Take Five Europe”.
Selected works: Radio One, 2013; Lulea’s Sunset, 2012; Estudio, Trabajo Y Fusil, 2007, recorded on Rockingchair 1: 1: Enja/Yellowbird/Harmonia Mundi, 2010; Eternité, 2003, recorded on Rockingchair Airelle Besson, Sylvain Rifflet, Chief Inspector/Abeille, 2007. Prize winning; Fly Away, 2000, recorded on Rockingchair Airelle Besson, Sylvain Rifflet, Chief Inspector/Abeille, 2007; Ma-Ion, 1998, recorded on Rockingchair Airelle Besson, Sylvain Rifflet, Chief Inspector/Abeille, 2007.
Selective discography: Voix Croisées, Didier Levallet Quintet, 2013; Hugh Coltman, Zéro Killed, Wagram.Universal, 2012; Crazy, Ornette, Discograph, 2011; Filigrane, Edouard Ferlet Quartet, Mélisse/Abeille, 2009; Le Gros Cube «La martipontine» d’Alban Darche, label yolk, 2005; A suivre Xtet  de Bruno Reigner: «Variations Altérées», label Yolk, 2003
Award: the «Django d’Or» for New Talent 2008, at the «Trophées Internationaux du Jazz» «Rockingchair» the first album in 2007.

Contact: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.